Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC Over 100 Years of Combined Litigation Experience

Preparing Employers for 2024: Four Changes to California Workplace Regulations


With a new year comes new laws. In California, legislators have recently enacted a number of different important labor and employment law changes. All companies and organizations should ensure that they are prepared. Here, our Riverside employment law attorney highlights four changes to California workplace laws that employers should address for 2024.

  1. Increased Minimum Wage (January 1st, 2024) 

The minimum wage increased in California. As of January 1st, 2024, the standard minimum wage across the state rose to $16.00. It should be noted that certain jurisdictions have local ordinances in place that set a higher minimum wage. Beyond that, California has industry-based minimum wage regulations that set a higher minimum wage level. Most notably, starting on June 1st, 2024, the minimum wage for healthcare facilities will be between $18.00 and $23.00—depending on the specific size, nature, and location of the facility. 

  1. Increased Minimum Exempt Salary (January 1st, 2024) 

Many workers in California are entitled to overtime pay when they work more than 40 hours per week. An employee may be exempt from overtime regulations if they meet certain requirements—such as having managerial/professional duties. Beyond that, a worker must earn a certain minimum annual salary to qualify for overtime exemptions. As of 2024, that minimum annual salary will be $66,560, increased from $64,480 in 2023. 

  1. Expanded Paid Leave Benefits (January 1st, 2024) 

California’s Senate Bill 616 (SB 616) took effect on January 1st, 2024. The law expands the minimum mandatory paid leave benefits available to employees in the state. More specifically, the law updates an existing (2014) law that increases the minimum required paid sick leave for full-time employees from three days (24 hours) per year to five days (40 hours) per year. Beyond that, the accrual limit also rises from six days (48 hours) to 10 days (80 hours). 

  1. Required Workplace Violence Prevention Plan (July 1st, 2024) 

In 2023, California lawmakers passed Senate Bill 553 (SB 553) into law. It will officially take effect on July 1st, 2024. As part of the law. California will become the first state to require virtually all employers to have a detailed plan to prevent workplace violence. Employers must train employees, keep records of incidents, and update their workplace violence training yearly. Broadly speaking. workplace violence includes any violent acts or threats at work that can cause injury, stress, or trauma. Employers must have a written plan in place to prevent and address workplace violence. Companies should be proactive. Ensure you have a plan in place before July of 2024.

Contact Our California Employment Law Attorney Today

At the Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC, our California employment lawyer has the professional experience that businesses and non-profit organizations can rely on. If you have any questions about employment law changes for 2024, please do not hesitate to contact us today. We work with employers in Coachella Valley, Riverside County, and all around California.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation