Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Riverside County Employment Lawyers > Blog > Employment Lawyer For Employers > Minimum Wages Employers Must Pay In California In 2023

Minimum Wages Employers Must Pay In California In 2023


With 2023 here, it is essential for employers in California to know about minimum wage increases across the state, and specific minimum wage increases beyond the state minimum in certain areas. If you have any employees in California, you need to learn more about minimum wage increases and what you must do to remain in compliance with state law and requirements in different municipalities. Our experienced California employment law attorneys for employers can provide you with additional information.

Statewide Minimum Wage is $15.50 Per Hour 

Throughout 2022, California employers with 26 or more employees were required to pay a minimum wage of $15.00 per hour. Employers with fewer than 25 employees were required to pay a minimum wage of $14.00 per hour. However, the minimum wage increased statewide on January 1, 2023, and the law no longer distinguishes between employers of different sizes. Whether they have one employee or dozens of employees, California employers must pay a minimum wage of $15.50 per hour. This is true in Riverside County and across the state.

Some cities and counties have higher minimum wage requirements. Riverside County does not have a higher minimum wage requirement than the state minimum wage requirement. However, if you do employ workers in Riverside County, it is critical for employers to know that individual counties, cities, and other localities can set higher minimum wage requirements that go above what has been set in the state in order to be aware of possible changes to local law. For example, in 2023, San Diego will have a minimum wage of $16.25, while the minimum wage in the Los Angeles Metropolitan area was raised to $16.04 as of July 1, 2022. The UC Berkeley Labor Center keeps a list of localities with higher minimum wage rates, which employers can research for more information.

How to Remain in Compliance with California Minimum Wage Requirements 

Beyond paying employees an hourly rate of at least $15.50 per hour as of January 1, 2023, what else do Riverside County employers need to do to remain in compliance with California minimum wage requirements? The following are some things that employers must do (or not do):

  • Employers cannot make deductions—even those permitted by California state law—from an employee’s paycheck that would result in the employee earning less than the minimum wage; and
  • Employers cannot reduce an employee’s wages for any reason if the reduction would result in the employee being paid less than the minimum wage.

You should speak with an attorney to ensure that you are in compliance with all wage and hour laws that are applicable in California.

Contact Our California Employment Law Attorneys for More Information 

If you have questions about your obligations or responsibilities concerning minimum wage and paying employees according to state and federal law, you should seek advice from one of the California employment lawyers for employers at the Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC. Our firm serves employers in Riverside County, Cathedral City, Coachella and Desert Hot Springs.





Facebook Twitter LinkedIn