Temecula Wage & Hour Claims & Overtime Lawyer
Subject to a few exceptions, employers are required to pay employees minimum wage in accordance with schedules set by the California Department of Industrial Relations (DIR). Many companies must also comply with state employment laws on overtime, meal and rest breaks. These statutes exist for the protection of employees, but not all employers obey the law. Some organizations make mistakes with calculating pay or hours worked, while others may not understand their obligation to provide breaks. However, employers also engage in intentional misconduct that affects the rights of workers.
Any violation of California labor laws can have a detrimental impact on employees, so it is important to understand your rights and options for enforcing them. Our team at The Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC can explain your legal remedies, since you may be entitled to compensation for the losses you sustain from employer misconduct. Please contact us to schedule a consultation with a Temecula wage & hour claims lawyer today, though a legal summary is also helpful.
Basics of California Wage, Hour, and Break Requirements
Most employment laws on wages, overtime, and breaks are based upon the distinction between exempt and nonexempt employees. If you are in a position of intellectual, managerial, or creative work, and make more than twice the minimum wage, you will likely qualify as an exempt worker; all others will typically be classified as nonexempt.
California wage, hour, and break laws only apply to nonexempt employees, so employers must:
- Pay minimum wage for all hours worked;
- Provide overtime compensation when an employee is on the job for more than 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week, or 6 days in a row;
- Pay twice the amount of wages to employees who work more than 12 hours a day;
- Provide a 30-minute meal break for employees who work more than 5 hours, along with a second break when their shift hits 10 hours; and,
- Allow a 10-minute rest break or substantial fraction thereof for those working more than 4 hours.
Remedies for Aggrieved Employees
If your employer violates California statutes on wage, overtime, and rest breaks, there are legal options for nonexempt workers. You may be entitled to back pay, interest, and attorneys’ fees for enforcing your rights. Our Temecula wage and overtime claims lawyers at The Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC are prepared to provide legal support on such tasks as:
- Assessing your employment status as exempt or nonexempt;
- Investigating and gathering evidence as proof of employer misconduct;
- Filing a complaint with the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE), through which you may be able to resolve disputes; and/or,
- Initiating a private lawsuit against your employer.
A Temecula Employment Attorney Can Explain Wage, Overtime, and Rest Break Claims
This overview of your legal remedies is informative, but it is no substitute for the experience and knowledge of an employment lawyer. For more information, please contact The Law Office of Karen J. Sloat, APC. You can set up a consultation by calling 760-779-1313 or completing our online form.