Close Menu
COVID Policies and Procedures Manual Get Now

Category Archives: New Laws for 2020

Worker Status: Employees and Independent Contractors

By Karen J. Sloat, APC |

The most widely reported legislation passed in 2019 was Assembly Bill 5, which was effective January 1, 2020 and codified new standards to determine whether a worker is an employee or an independent contractor. AB 5 incorporated the “ABC Test” introduced in 2018 by the California Supreme Court in Dynamex Operations West, Inc. v…. Read More »

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Minimum Wage Increase

By Karen J. Sloat, APC |

California continues to implement its stair-step minimum wage increases. Effective January 1, 2020, the statewide minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees increased to $12.00 per hour, and employers with 26 or more employees must pay at least $13.00 per hour. This increase also affects the minimum salary requirements for exempt employees…. Read More »

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
+